Emma’s Top Five Christmas Reads 2013

December is a pretty good month isn’t it? You might still be working like me, but at least you know there’s a magical light at the end of that dark, frosty tunnel. There’s Christmas lights, turkey and plenty of holiday cheer to enjoy on the other side and quite possibly the most enjoyable thing to do is snuggle up in your favourite jimmers and read. Here’s my top five recommendations for this Christmas; I’ve read some of them, but some are on my waiting list- so we’ll pretty much be enjoying them together.

1. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Image

It’s a gripping psychological thriller about a marriage that’s falling apart when wife, Amy goes missing on her and Nick’s five year wedding anniversary. Nick is a suspect, because the husband is always a suspect, and as he searches for his wife’s whereabouts, you are constantly trying to decide if he actually did kill her. This may not seem like your typical Christmas read, because it’s a thriller but I just thought I should get out of my chick lit habit, and what better time to do it when I’m all cosy and safe at Christmas time?

2. Let It Snow by John Green, Maureen Johnson and Lauren Myracle

Image

This is more like it, this one’s got “snow” in the title. What a perfect holiday read. I actually read this in early November, and kind of regret reading this Christmas tale so early. There’s an ill-timed storm on Christmas Eve (naturally) that interferes with the lives of various characters throughout all three stories. I was very worried that the three separate stories would remain very separate, I praised the lord when I began reading the second story and realised that they did after all link up, and that’s such a great feeling. One brave soul ventures out into the storm from her stranded train and sets off a chain of events that will change quite a few lives. Over the next three days one girl takes a risky short cut with an adorable stranger, three friends set out to win a race to the Waffle House, and the fate of a teacup pig falls into the hands of a lovesick Starbucks barista.

3. Why We Broke Up by Daniel Handler

Image

 

We’ve gotta have more than one piece of chick lit to balance out the psychological thriller that we might cry about, and I thought we’d go for Daniel Handler’s talk of the town Why We Broke Up. I wouldn’t usually go for something about a break up, because that’s not usually my scene- I like happy endings. However, I’ve heard so much about this book and even from the cover art alone I’m intrigued. I’m a sucker for fancy cover art, I’m afraid I do always judge a book by its cover, kill me. This novel tells the story of Min Green and how she and Ed Slaterton met at a party, saw a movie, followed an old woman, shared a hotel room, and broke each other’s hearts. I look forward to cracking this open on my Kindle.

4. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

Image

 

Yes, another book from John Green. Simply because you can’t beat this man’s writing at any time of the year. I’m such a ridiculous person that I haven’t even read this yet, I’ve read the majority of his other works, loved them, but I haven’t managed to get round to the book that everyone’s been talking about for pretty much the entirety of 2013. So, I’d better get this book into my brain before 2014 taps me on the shoulder. I may not have approached it yet, because of it’s subject matter. Most of John Green’s books are about teenagers and romance, there’s some serious elements to them but none of them are quite like this. The book deals with the harsh reality of cancer and how people with cancer are different to others, so it will be a very sensitive novel to read, and perhaps it would be wise to read Let It Snow soon afterwards.

5. Bridget Jones: Mad About the Boy by Helen Fielding

Image

This came out back in October and I remember it being very expensive upon its release date, even on the kindle. Thankfully, it’s fallen down to a reasonable price and I’ll be purchasing it without hearing my purse cry from within my handbag. It wasn’t just the price that put me off buying this as soon as it came out, I heard rumours. Rumours that our beloved Mark Darcy had been killed off, yes our lovely Colin Firth (that’s always going to be who he is in my head, even though usually with books I create my own vision of characters). It really got me, and annoyed me for quite some time that I’ve refused to read about it. That way I can deny all of its truth. This new installment sees Bridget Jones widowed at the age of 51. This also made me feel like I couldn’t read it, because Bridget is no longer anywhere near my age, and I might not find it as amusing as I once did when Bridget was in her 30’s. I’m going to give it a chance this Christmas, despite my negative views, because I do love Helen Fielding’s writing and I’m sure she’ll most certainly prove me wrong. Additionally, it doesn’t look likely to be made into a film despite it’s strong book sales. I guess that’s because we’ve got no Colin Firth to drool over.

Happy Holiday Reading 😉

Leave a comment