Zen

Image

I don’t know what to write about today, but I know that I want to write something. I’ve been trying to take part in the November writing challenge, where you write a 50,000 word novel in a whole month. It’s quite a challenge when you’re doing other things, and if you don’t lock yourself down in that writing bubble, you’re not going to get anywhere. I’ve found over the past few weeks that we all need to calm the fuck down and take a big step into that bubble, and this isn’t just a bubble for writing. This could be a bubble in which you can do anything. That could be dancing, singing, painting or even playing football. The bubble is your own personal space, it’s not something that is to be used as a tool to be anti-social- it’s a tool to enhance your own happiness.

What happens when somebody tries to push their way into that bubble, this could even be somebody literally leaning over your laptop screen and asking in that childlike voice “whatcha doing?” The best way to deal with this kind of behaviour is to be completely Zen. You’ve got to be the sturdy rock that lets the river flow past you, even in a storm. Even if the person or issue that is stopping you from being happy is strong and appears to be intruding your bubble, you’ve just got to remain Zen.

That’s my lesson of the week: remain calm at all times, stressing out over something isn’t going to help the matter and always be looking out for your bubble. It’s yours for a reason and you’ve got to look after it. However, I clearly haven’t been looking after myself over the past week because now I’m run down with a cold. If I remain Zen, what I’ll do with this situation is turn it into a good one- I’ll lock myself down in a nice, germ-free bubble and crack on with my novel.

Leave a Reply

