What’s in my make-up bag?

Image

 

I’m not the kind of girl that has a huge make-up bag, instead I have just a small one which contains the stuff I use everyday. I’m a busy girl so I can’t be dealing with a huge bag, or lots scattered around the house. Here’s my essential makeup items, and I’ll tell you why I like them:

  • Rimmel Wake Me Up Foundation

I’ve never been blown away with Rimmel make-up in the past, and in particular foundations, but this one has surprised me- it’s so easy to apply, moisturising and you don’t need blending brushes or careful applications- which is perfect if you’re always on the go. It’s not too heavy either, it’s nice and light and leaves you with a shimmery glow- which sometimes may appear quite a bit too shimmery in certain lights, but who cares? Every girl likes to shimmer a bit!

  • MUA Cover and Conceal Wand- Natural

At a measly £1.50 this concealer is ridiculously good for what I want. I’m not a lover of heavy coverage, because to be frank my skin doesn’t really need it. This is perfect if you just want to cover a few red patches or minor dark circles under the eyes. It’s easy to blend, and I like to put it on just before my RImmel Wake Me Up.

  • L’Oreal Paris Telescopic Waterproof Mascara

I’ve been through a lot of mascaras in the past, including various Rimmels and Maybellines which have all been disappointing and clumpy. I was given this mascara (not this exact one, I’m not a skank) for Christmas probably about six years ago by my aunty, and I’ve never looked back. It’s quite a pricey mascara, (all mascaras are pretty pricey now) and this is worth every penny. The wand is a little comb, which I think aids in the non-clumpiness plus it’s a very thin formula. It works a dream.

  • MUA Blush Perfection Cream Blusher in Yummy

This is something I’ve still not quite made my mind up about. I thought I’d try out a few cosmetics from the MUA range, just to see if cheap make-up always means its rubbish. I’ve found that with the concealer it’s great, but with this cream blush it’s less than great. I got quite excited at the fact that it’s a cream blush, as I used to use a great one by Barbara Daly (at Tesco) but it became so expensive for a tiny pot- which I couldn’t use a brush with, that I just gave up buying it. The problem with this cream blush is that it’s so sticky- the cream is more like a weird child’s glue so that when you pop your blusher brush in the pot it steals bristles and they end up on your face. Not to mention your face feels sticky for a while. I’m going to give it another chance, then I’ll probably switch back to a L’Oreal powder brush.

  • Sleek True Colour Matte Finish Lipstick in Vamp

(Please see previous blog post for a full review!)

  • Sleek Vintage Romance Eyeshadow Palette

(Please see previous blog post for a full review!)

  • Maybelline Colour Tattoo Eyeshadows (in Eternal Pink, On and On Bronze and Light in Purple)

I can’t get enough of these. They are the most hassle free eyeshadows I’ve ever had, and the colours are fantastic. These truly do last 24 hours, I’ve never tried it for the whole 24 hours, put I’m pretty sure it wouldn’t let you down. They’re deliciously sparkly, and I tend to wear the bronze one pretty much everyday. I just use my fingers to apply them and then I’m good to go, no make-up brushes. No fuss.

  • Maybelline Colour Show Nail Polish in Cool Blue

This was actually my summer colour, I’ve moved onto a dark green sparkly number by Sinful Colours which I will be doing a review about. Because they’re fantastic for just 1.99. This polish was also quite cheap, only 2.99 and it’s a great colour even when only one coat is applied. My only dilemma is that after about a month of owning and using it, the consistency has become very chalky almost like the Barry M crackling nail polish. If someone can tell me why, that’d be great.

Also, my make-up bag is by Anna Sui 🙂

Hope you’ve enjoyed reading what’s in my make-up bag! Do get in touch if you’d like to see this kind of thing more!

Leave a Reply

