October Make-Up Favourites!

I’ve only bought a couple of make-up things this month, as I haven’t really got that excited over something since the Maybelline 24hr Colour Tattoo eyeshadows and then I decided I wanted a vampish lipstick for the new Autumn season and found Sleek’s True Colour Matte Finish lipstick in Vamp. It promises “high impact lips” and it certainly fulfils this, the colour lasts for a good 2-3 hours. However, it does say that it’s rich in Vitamin E which should mean that it keeps your lips very moisturised- it doesn’t. I’ve found this to be one of the most difficult lipsticks to apply, its not very smooth and you have to push quite forcefully to achieve maximum colour. After a few applications I learned that this lipstick is best to be dabbed on only, not smoothed on like you normally would. Additionally, what annoys me with this line of Sleek lipsticks is the tiny packaging- I like to have quite a big case to grip onto while I apply my lipstick, this one seems to get lost in my hand and it’s just awkward. Despite these negative views, I still think it’s an awesome colour- and particularly good for the upcoming Halloween/ Autumn season. I originally intended to save this for Halloween and pair it with my Buffy the Vampire Slayer costume (which you’ll see nearer the time) but I’ve actually been wearing it casually with my tartan dresses and biker jackets.

IMG_5552

IMG_5556

The second and final thing in my October favourites (I know right, only two?) is the Sleek Vintage Romance Eyeshadow Palette. I’m not going to lie, I did buy this with a friend purely because the packaging was so pretty. I’m a sucker for a good print. However, I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the shadows, as they are mineralised- meaning they’ve got a great pigment to them. Also, the shades are all very neutral, and perfect for everyday wear. Hopefully this will get me out of my everyday habit of wearing Maybelline Colour Tattoo (that’s not necessarily a bad thing though, right?)! The only fault, again I’m probably gonna give a fault to most of my favourites, is that when you use it with the brush supplied it goes absolutely everywhere, and I hate a messy eyeshadow box- heck I’m sure everybody does! Otherwise, it’s a great little palette, and only £7.99 which is a god damn steal for 12 different shades!

IMG_5545 IMG_5550

(from top to bottom: “Pretty in Paris”, “Court in Cannes” and “Meet in Madrid”)

IMG_5547

(They’ve got some fun names too, from top left to right bottom: “Pretty in Paris”, “Meet in Madrid”, “Court in Cannes”, “Lust in LA”, “Romance in Rome”, “Propose in Prague”, “A Vow in Venice”, “Marry in Monte Carlo”, “Honeymoon in Hollywood”, “Bliss in Barcelona”, “Forever in Florence”, “Love in London”.)

Have a go at creating a little love story based on these shade names!

Leave a Reply

